Boot to the command line instead of X


Often when I fire up my machine, I don’t even want X to start, say I’m just going to let my torrents download, or I just need to quickly check something online or login to finch. Whatever it might be, if I don’t need X, I don’t want X.

So here is a really simple method of telling your system to boot to the CLI, and not launch X. Just enter the following into the command line:

sudo update-rc.d -f gdm remove

Reboot, now once on the command line, should you wish to launch X, simply type ‘startx’ and your back in the gui.

If you need to undo this, use the following to restore to default:

sudo update-rc.d -f gdm defaults
Leave a Reply

